Stars of the Rainbow 2011

When people participate in a fundraiser, they like to know where their money goes and with Pride Center at Equality Park’s annual Stars of The Rainbow this year, there will be no doubt.

“This year we sought sponsors to underride all of the cost of the event which will allow 100-percent of the $150 ticket to go to the vital lifesaving services that the Center offers,” said Deputy Director Kristofer Fegenbush.

Fegenbush said that he thinks it’s important for the community to know this.

“In this economy, they want the way they invest their money to make a difference,” he said.

The Pride Center does so much for the GLBT community. It was founded in 1993 by philanthropist Alan Schubert who recognized the need for a comprehensive program of services to support the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender community, primarily in Broward County. The Pride Center, a not-for-profit organization, was established and now serves as a source for information, education, advocacy and support.

Their mission statement is “We provide a welcoming, safe space — an inclusive home that celebrates, nurtures and empowers the LGBTQ communities and our friends and neighbors in South Florida.”

To keep their programs going, they need to raise money and Stars of the Rainbow is their biggest annual event. With the sponsorship of Wachovia, they are sure to meet this need.


In addition to its fundraising goal, Stars of the Rainbow is also a time when the community can come together and honor those who donate their heart and soul to it. Stars of the Rainbow honorees represent individuals, businesses and organizations that exemplify the spirit of volunteerism and/or activism — those who represented the GLBT community in a positive light, and have supported the efforts of the Pride Center. This year’s honorees are: Board Member Star of the Year: Pastor Leslie Tipton; Community Stars of the Year: Nikki Adams, Broward House and Donna Markland, Broward County Health Department; Non-Profit Star of the Year: Trevor Project; Media Star of the Year: South Florida Gay News – Norm Kent, Publisher; Public Official Stars of the Year: Congresswoman Ileana Ross-Lehtinen, Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz, and Tyler Healis; Sustainability Award: Arthur Smith; Volunteer Star of the Year: PALS Project Volunteers; and Alan Schubert Humanitarian Award: Will Spencer.

“This group that’s being honored — they’re really a great group of people,” Fegenbush said. “I’m really excited about them. The people honored have made such a difference. These are people who have invested blood, sweat and tears. You look at these people and you think, ‘Wow.'”

“I feel humbled to stand with them next month and applaud,” he added.


Stars of the Rainbow used to be a sit down event, but as of last year, they changed the concept — it’s now a two hour cocktail party with delicious food, drinks and entertainment.

“It’s really a fun, classy cocktail party,” Fegenbush said. “People responded to it well last year — they had a blast!”

He said that it gives people a time to network and mingle with the honorees.

“And they can maybe even get a date,” he said.

Stars of the Rainbow is on Sunday, April 3, from 4 to 6 p.m. at Hyatt Regency Pier 66 in the Crystal Ballroom. Tickets cost $150. For tickets and more information on the event, visit

Stars of The Rainbow

Sunday, April 3, 2011
4 to 6 p.m.

Crystal Ballroom
Hyatt Regency Pier 66
2301 SE 17th Street Causeway, Fort Lauderdale


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *